HB 1168 - Requiring Smoke Alarms to be Retrofitted in All Bedroom Rental Properties
In May 2011, the Texas legislature passed House Bill 1168, updating the Texas Property Code to require the installation of smoke alarms in all bedrooms of rental properties throughout the state. The new law requires the bedrooms of rental properties not already equipped with a smoke alarm to be retrofitted no later than January 1, 2013.

Temple Fire & Rescue wants you to know that Fire is everyone's fight and you can make a difference by knowing that State law now requires landlords to install a smoke alarm in every sleeping area in all rental properties. Working smoke alarms are the only thing in your home that can alert you and your family to a fire 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Plan and practice your fire escape plan twice a year with everyone in your family. Test smoke alarms monthly and change the batteries at least once a year. Replace smoke alarms every 8-10 years or as the manufacturer guidelines recommend.

Read HB1168 (PDF)